She Brings Me Water

An aeclectic look at the nearby world

Red Silk

It’s been three weeks since my last post and if the corn isn’t as high as an elephant’s eye, it’s pretty darn close. Above is a picture of the Ruby Queen corn tassels, and you can see the cob forming and also some bean vines twining around the stalks.

Here’s a picture of some bean plants at the base of the corn:

Here is a problem: we have realized that if we plant the squash now, they probably won’t get enough sunlight to grow or produce well, as the corn and beans are so tall and lush. Also if we make the mounds for the squash in-between the corn/bean mounds, there will be very little (or no) room to walk, and no sense of space in the garden. The ornamental gourds we transplanted on the west/center of the garden are doing extremely well and running their vines with huge leaves through the corn and out the garden boundaries. I can see how, if we had planted the squash along with the beans, their leaves would have covered the ground enough to discourage weed growth. But, now I think we’ll have to find someplace else for the squash, or just plant them on the edges where they might get enough sun and can be allowed to expand beyond the edges of the garden.

In this picture, I’m wearing my Native American Dance Shawl I bought at a powwow in Cedar City, Utah, and at the bottom of the picture you can see the gourd plants dancing their way through the garden. Those are Tibetan prayer flags hanging across the center of the garden, dancing in the breeze.

11 Comments»

  Bo wrote @

So lush. What a fertile area for creation.
Bo

  Bo wrote @

I forgot to mention how much I love your shawl – such a wonderful color.

  traveller wrote @

the ruby corn is well-named, the silk is beautiful – as is your shawl

  She Wolf wrote @

Your garden is wonderful, Mari. I hope the squash does as well as everything else seems to be doing. I also like your dance shawl. Powwows are amazing, aren’t they. The drum beats go through everything and make it all one.

  Anita Marie wrote @

AWESOME!
AMM

  peacebird wrote @

I echo all the above Mari and how wonderful to have Tibetan Prayer Flags in your garden

  Lori wrote @

I have never seen ruby-red corn silk before! That must create a stunning contrast in your garden against all the shades of green.

Incredible!

L.

  JBS wrote @

Mari, I was just wondering what % Native American you are. Great shaw.
My, that corn behind you must be at least 8′ tall. What color will the Ruby Queen corn be?
JBS

  imogen88 wrote @

The corn silk is beautiful, and how tall it is! Great to see you in the garden — how proud you must be.

  Nanette Davis wrote @

I like your shawl. You got it in Cedar City, Utah? I live in SLC, Utah
Utah is a great state to live in.

  marimann wrote @

Thanks, Nanette. I got the shawl at the Paiute (I think) Powwow in June 2004, in Cedar City. I am nearly finished with a novel entitled Call of the Coyote that’s based on my experiences on an archaeological dig near St. George, UT. I have never been to SLC, though! I only was in Utah for one month but it was beautiful.


Leave a Reply

